Return to homepage

MVRW-Richard-WagnerAnother website dedicated to Richard Wagner ? Certainly, yes… but why ?

With these two words, and on these two words – a first name and a last name, Richard Wagner – apparently everything has been said and written. Or even anything. And even those who admit to not knowing anything about the multiple facets of the artist (a musician, conductor, essayist and even philosopher, theorist, stage director and even architect, and of course especially genius composer) have their own opinions; peremptory opinions, hurled with profound conviction, for the subjects who can provoke hostile reactions are not lacking: a composer of never-ending operas of which one cannot understand anything, neither the music nor the libretto, a woolly theorist who one day appointed himself as the father of the « Music of the Future » (it says it all!), a composer who prefigured an aesthetic exploited by the Nazis, the creator of a festival in a small village in Bavaria (Bayreuth) for which – the ultimate snobbery! – one has to wait more than ten years to be let in…

In short, a jumble of misconceptions transmitted from generation to generation, and which were born at the very time when the composer presented his works to the public: a public that was enthusiastic to the point of being outright passionate in the face of hostile detractors determined to put an end to the advent of this music considered dangerous, that shook up the codes of this very conservative 19th century. Clearly, with Wagner and his work, it is a matter of passion and enthusiasts. It is loved to the point of veneration or hated and rejected completely.

Yet, it is admitted by all, admirers or detractors, there has been a « before » and an « after » Richard Wagner. A true revolution. It has been said that Richard Wagner was the most written about character, after Karl Marx and Jesus! Among these works devoted to him, some are true Bibles; others hastily and insidiously report fallacious arguments – so many errors, approximations and subjective comments in analyses that nevertheless claim to be objective.

With the advent of the Internet – which lists more than a hundred websites devoted to the life or work of the composer – all kinds of conflicting statements have been published; the sources of information – sometimes even contradictory – reveal certain superficial or subjective approaches, or even shortcuts established quite quickly between the events in the composer’s life and his posterity.

 

So, what are the stakes of this unprecedented website?

From serious references, our goal is to provide some possible answers, food for thought on the positive and negative dogmas that surround the Wagnerian legend.

We will highlight, as students-researchers, complex issues but that are treated in a comprehensible way by all, and serve on a platter (via the Internet) all of the author-director work that we offer to carry out.

Incidentally, his autobiography, dictated during his lifetime by Wagner to his wife Cosima, who put down in writing the sacred words and formulas of the husband she venerated almost as much as god, a one of a kind work, didn’t the author call it My Life (Mein Leben) ?

For, when he began to create, write and publish his autobiography, Wagner, who had reached the age of maturity, was aware that his personal life – at the very least extraordinary and worthy of a true adventure novel – had been so exceptional that it could only have influenced his artistic creation.

Endowed with a passionate character, this uncomparable composer was sometimes also an engaged politician, sometimes a revolutionary; he was a passionate lover who fed on the despair of the impossible love given to a married woman, Mathilde Wesendonck, to compose Tristan and Isolde ; he was a friend of the people whom he rubbed shoulders with in the breweries of Munich; he was a friend and a confidant of King Ludwig II of Bavaria, who greatly supported the production of his operas; he was an aesthete who only wished to live in luxury, and who all his life had to flee creditors and bailiffs; he was a friend of philosophers – Nietzsche to take one example, formerly the brother, later the sworn enemy – with whom he conversed and theorized; he was the first (and the only one in the history of music) to consider that his work could be decently staged only in a theatre specially designed and built for him.

And the contemporaries that the artist bumped into through chance encounters, whether they were fascinated or irritated by this character, are among the most illustrious figures of his time: from Queen Victoria to Catulle Mendes, from Bismarck to Charles Baudelaire, and so many others…

And all, in one way or another, inspired either the characters of the composer’s operas or the problems and situations at the root of the librettos that these same operas produce on the stages of theatres around the world.

This obvious, fascinating and intrinsic link between Richard Wagner’s life and his artistic creations is what we offer to highlight through this new website entirely dedicated to the German composer.

A biography that we want to make as complete as possible, almost on a daily basis, will expose the events that marked the life of Richard Wagner, from his formation and his first musical clashes – due among others to Beethoven and Weber – to his political adventures that made him an exile, eternally wandering and discovering France, Italy, Switzerland in an endless flight, and his encounters with the crowned heads. All this favoured his recognition among the artists and philosophers with whom he exchanged many letters and who shaped both his thought and his mode of artistic expression. A life made of incessant torments, struggles, a life that had a considerable importance on the artist’s creation.

Outside of these factual elements, delivered in complete impartiality and without any personal judgment, gleaned from the biographical writings of Wagner himself, from the diary of his wife Cosima, as well as from the testimonies written by the close relations of the artist during his lifetime, inserts will allow us to question the main themes that are at the very foundation of the art of this genius of the 19th century, and we will try to find the links between the artistic, political, theological or even socio-economic positions of the composer and the way he exalted them in order to expose them on stage….

 

Richard Wagner, a life, a work.
A life that explains a work.
A work that we try here to explain by a life…. through a collaborative website accessible to all.

Nicolas CRAPANNE.

Retour à l'accueil

MVRW-Richard-WagnerEncore un site dédié à Richard Wagner ?
Certes, oui… mais pourquoi ?

Avec ces deux mots, et sur ces deux mots – un prénom et un nom, Richard Wagner – on a apparemment tout dit et tout écrit. Voire n’importe quoi. Et même ceux qui avouent ne rien connaître aux multiples facettes de l’artiste (musicien, chef d’orchestre, essayiste voire philosophe, théoricien, metteur en scène et même architecte, et bien sûr surtout compositeur de génie) ont leur propre avis ; avis péremptoire, asséné avec une profonde conviction, car les sujets pouvant provoquer des réactions épidermiques ne manquent guère : compositeur d’opéras interminables auxquels on ne comprend rien, ni à la musique, ni au livret, théoricien fumeux qui un beau jour s’auto-proclama père de « la Musique de l’Avenir » (tout un programme !), compositeur qui préfigura une esthétique récupérée par les nazis, créateur d’un festival dans une petite bourgade de Bavière (Bayreuth) pour lequel il faut – comble du snobisme ! – patienter plus de dix ans afin de pouvoir y être admis…

Bref, un fatras d’idées reçues qui se transmettent de génération en génération, et qui sont nées à l’époque même où le compositeur présenta ses œuvres au public : Un public enthousiaste jusqu’à la passion face à des détracteurs hostiles bien décidés à mettre un terme à l’avènement de cette musique jugée dangereuse qui bousculait les codes de ce XIXème siècle si conservateur. On l’aura compris, Wagner et son œuvre, c’est une affaire de passion et de passionnés. On l’aime jusqu’à la vénération ou on le déteste et rejette en bloc.

Pourtant, c’est admis par tous, admirateurs ou détracteurs, il y eut l’ « avant » et l’ « après » Richard Wagner. Une véritable révolution. On a dit que Richard Wagner était le personnage sur lequel on avait le plus écrit, après Karl Marx et Jésus ! Parmi ces ouvrages qui lui sont consacrés, certains sont de véritables bibles ; d’autres rapportent de façon hâtive et insidieuse des argumentaires fallacieux – autant d’erreurs, d’approximations, de commentaires subjectifs dans le cadre d’analyses qui se veulent pourtant objectives.

Avec l’arrivée d’Internet – qui recense plus d’une centaine de sites consacrés à la vie ou à l’œuvre du compositeur – tout et son contraire a été publié ; les sources d’information – parfois même contradictoires – révèlent certaines approches superficielles ou subjectives , ou bien encore des raccourcis établis de manière un peu rapide entre les événements de la vie du compositeur et sa postérité.

 

Alors, quels sont les enjeux de ce site internet inédit ?

A partir de références sérieuses, nous voulons apporter des éléments de réponse, de réflexion sur les dogmes positifs comme négatifs qui entourent la légende wagnérienne.

Nous allons mettre en lumière, tels des chercheurs-étudiants, des problématiques complexes mais traitées de manière compréhensible par tous, et apporter sur un plateau (via internet) tout le travail d’auteur-réalisateur que nous nous proposons de mener.

D’ailleurs, son autobiographie, dictée de son vivant par Wagner à sa femme Cosima qui couchait sur le papier les mots et formules sacrés du mari qu’elle vénérait presque autant que Dieu, cet ouvrage unique en son genre, l’auteur ne l’a-t-il pas appelé« Ma Vie » (Mein Leben) ?

Car, au moment où il entreprit de concevoir, rédiger et publier son autobiographie, Wagner, arrivé à l’âge de la maturité, était conscient que sa vie personnelle – pour le moins extraordinaire et digne d’un véritable roman d’aventure – avait été tellement exceptionnelle qu’elle ne pouvait qu’avoir influé sur sa création artistique.

Doté d’un caractère passionné, le compositeur fut tantôt politique engagé, tantôt révolutionnaire ; il fut un amoureux passionné qui se nourrit du désespoir de l’amour impossible porté à une femme mariée, Mathilde Wesendonck, pour composer « Tristan et Isolde » ; il fut un ami du peuple qu’il côtoya dans les brasseries de Munich ; il fut un proche et un confident du Roi Louis II de Bavière qui favorisa largement la création de ses opéras ; il fut un esthète qui ne souhaitait vivre que dans le luxe et qui dut fuir toute sa vie créanciers et huissiers ; il fut un ami des philosophes – Nietzsche pour ne citer que lui, autrefois le frère, plus tard l’ennemi juré – avec lesquels il devise et théorise ; il fut le premier (et le seul dans l’histoire de la musique) à estimer que son œuvre ne pouvait être décemment représentée que dans un théâtre spécialement conçu et construit pour lui.

Et les contemporains que l’artiste croise au hasard de ses rencontres, qu’ils soient fascinés ou irrités par ce personnage, comptent parmi les personnalités les plus illustres de son temps : de la reine Victoria à Catulle Mendès, de Bismarck à Charles Baudelaire, et tant d’autres…

Et tous, d’une manière ou d’une autre, inspirèrent soit les personnages des opéras du compositeur, soit les problématiques et les situations à l’origine des livrets que ces mêmes opéras mettent en scène sur les planches des théâtres du monde entier.

 

Cette relation évidente, fascinante et intrinsèque entre la vie Richard Wagner et ses créations artistiques est l’enjeu que nous proposons de mettre en lumière à travers ce nouveau site entièrement dédié au compositeur allemand.

 

Une biographie que nous souhaitons la plus complète possible, quasiment au jour le jour, exposera les événements qui ont jalonné la vie de Richard Wagner, depuis sa formation et ses premiers chocs musicaux – dus entre autres à Beethoven et à Weber – jusqu’à ses aventures politiques qui firent de lui un exilé, éternel errant découvrant la France, l’Italie, la Suisse dans une fuite sans fin, et ses rencontres avec les têtes couronnées. Tout ceci favorisa sa reconnaissance parmi les artistes et philosophes avec lesquels il échangea maints courriers  et qui façonnèrent tant sa pensée que son mode d’expression artistique. Une vie faite de tourments incessants, de luttes, une vie qui eut une importance considérable sur la création de l’artiste.

En marge de ces éléments factuels et livrés en toute impartialité et sans aucun jugement personnel, glanés dans les écrits biographiques de Wagner lui-même, dans le journal de son épouse Cosima, ainsi que dans les témoignages écrits par les proches de l’artiste de son vivant, des encarts nous permettront de nous interroger sur les grandes thématiques qui sont au fondement même de l’art de ce génie du XIXème, et nous tenterons de trouver les rapports entre les positions artistiques, politiques, théologiques ou bien encore socio-économiques du compositeur et la manière dont celui-ci a su les sublimer pour les exposer sur scène….

 

Richard Wagner, une vie, une œuvre.
Une vie qui explique une œuvre. Une œuvre que nous tentons ici-même d’expliquer par une vie…. à travers un site internet collaboratif et accessible à tous.
Nicolas Crapanne